Words & Music

I sit and stare
at a blank, empty paper.
I sit and stare
at my pen.
The lines start blending together
I don’t know how to begin.
How do I say
what’s in my head?
How do I speak
my heart?
How do I put into words
things that words can’t express?
Words aren’t good enough.
They just aren’t adequate.
Words are just words,
They aren’t feelings
or emotions.
Words can try to explain,
But I don’t need explanation.
I need expression…
I need music.

~ Me

I write all the time.  When I’m happy, I write.  When I’m sad, I write.  When I’m angry, I write.  You get the point…

Much of what I write greatly reflects what I was feeling or what I was going through when I wrote it.  However, there are times when I get extremely frustrated because I can’t get words to work for me the way I want them to.

When words fail me, I turn to music.

“Music expresses that which cannot be put into words and that which cannot remain silent”

― Victor Hugo

When I have an intense need to express my feelings, I pull out my sheet music and sit down at the piano.  Sometimes, I’ll play for as long as a couple of hours — submerging myself in the music and totally blocking out the world around me.  These sessions at the piano are so much more satisfying than staring at a blank sheet of paper or a page full of scribbled out words.

 

About Aerykah

I'm a 26-year-old Christian homeschool graduate from Oklahoma, USA. I thoroughly enjoy reading, writing, and photography... among other things. ;)
This entry was posted in About Me, Music, My Writings and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Words & Music

  1. sarah says:

    That’s the reason I can’t live without a piano……

    Like

I'd love to hear from you! :)

