“Candle In The Darkness” by Lynn Austin

Candle in the Darkness (Refiner's Fire, #1)

Candle in the Darkness” is book #1 in the “Refiner’s Fire” series by Lynn Austin

*                    *                    *                    *                    *                    *                    *

A REVIEW BY ME

I read this book for the 4th time last year. Is it possible that it gets better every time I read it? I loved it every time & I’ll probably read it again this year or next.
This is my favorite series by Lynn Austin and possibly my favorite series of all! I highly recommend these books to all my book-loving friends, especially the one who like to read about the American Civil War.

This book really made me look at the American Civil War differently than I ever had before. It made me consider the Confederate side of things more. It also helped me to better understand the importance of trying to see both sides of a situation before judging someone’s stand on an issue or response/reaction to a situation. Caroline was in a really tight spot during the war. She had some really hard, important decisions to make. Some people would immediately judge her decisions according to their biased opinions. She truly struggled to make those decisions and to live with the way others treated her because of them. I enjoyed reading about how she felt and what she did to get through those struggles. I’m sorry to say I don’t know that I would have had the character it took to do what she did.

Honestly, it would take way too long to tell everything I like about this book. I can go on, and on, and ON about it! Suffice it to say that I LOVE this book and hope that all my friends enjoy it too!  🙂

*                    *                    *                    *                    *                    *                    *

WHAT SOME OF MY FRIENDS ARE SAYING ABOUT THIS BOOK

Here is where I usually tell you all the good things my friends had to say about this book… Unfortunately, only one of my friends has written a review for it.  But here’s a link to the 5-star review that she posted on her blog (which is pretty great, by the way).  Check it out!  🙂
Candle in the Darkness by Lynn Austin *Recommended!*

*                    *                    *                    *                    *                    *                    *

I highly recommend the entire “Refiner’s Fire” series!  🙂

Candle in the Darkness (Ref...       Fire by Night (Refiner's Fi...       A Light to My Path (Refiner...

About Aerykah

I'm a 26-year-old Christian homeschool graduate from Oklahoma, USA. I thoroughly enjoy reading, writing, and photography... among other things. ;)
This entry was posted in Book Reviews, Books and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to “Candle In The Darkness” by Lynn Austin

  1. Virginia says:

    I loved reading this book!! I think I’m way overdue for a re-read though! 🙂

    Like

  2. Maria says:

    This sounds beautiful! I haven’t read much about American Civil War but I’m interested in finding out more about that time period. Plus, I have an e-copy of this book 🙂 Yay!!

    Like

I'd love to hear from you! :)

