“Take A Chance On Me” by Susan May Warren

Take a Chance on Me (Christiansen Family, #1)

I have read a lot of books by Susan May Warren — 17 of her books and 4 books (the Heirs of Anton series) that she co-wrote with Susan K. Downs.  Most of them I liked very much!  And this book is one of those that I liked very much.  😉

*                    *                    *                    *                    *                    *                    *

A REVIEW BY CAITLYN

  This is the first book of Ms. Warren’s that I have read. Let me just say that it will not be the last! I enjoyed this book immensely! The author portrays life in a small Minnesota town so well it makes you feel like an honorary resident of Deep Haven! Aside from the setting (which became a prominent character in it’s own right!), what stood out to me the most was the incredible message of forgiveness, and the fabulous, utterly unforgettable characters. I loved both Ivy and Darek, but I think Claire and Casper (I love that name by the way!) are my favorites, but of course I am crazy about all of the Christiansen’s!  If a story includes a close knit family that know everything about each other including how to push each other’s buttons which they do often, but on the other hand, will always be there to love, protect, and help each other no matter what, it is bound to become a favorite of mine. As is the case with this book!  I love this so much because I am incredibly blessed to have a family like that in my own life. Combine this with, not one but two very sweet love stories and even a bit of suspense due to the looming wildfire threat, and you have an unforgettable story. While this is a relatively long book at almost four hundred pages, I was never once bored and in fact I read it in just over a day, I couldn’t put it down! And oh, man, talk about an epic ending!!! 🙂  I don’t very often read contemporary romance, but I am so glad I read this one, seriously it’s soooo good! I highly recommend you all buy a copy and read it as soon as you can!!! It definitely has a place on my keeper shelf and I envision re reading it several times in the future! Oh, and in case it wasn’t obvious I can’t wait to read the next book in the series!!! Susan May Warren has a new fan in me! You can also see this review and others on Caitlyn’s blog: Just Your Average Reviews.

*                    *                    *                    *                    *                    *                    *

WHAT ONE OF MY OTHER FRIENDS SAID ABOUT THIS BOOK

The story was very interesting and I thought it was great how there wasn’t just one, but two, romance stories in Take A Chance On Me. The ending was really good and I liked how it wasn’t a typical ending. I also loved the message of forgiveness/grace. Overall, a wonderful read! I enjoyed the whole book, but the last so many chapters were especially good. I recommend Take A Chance On Me to fans of contemporary romance novels.

~Melanie

*                    *                    *                    *                    *                    *                    *

Click HERE to see more review posts on my blog!  🙂

About Aerykah

I'm a 26-year-old Christian homeschool graduate from Oklahoma, USA. I thoroughly enjoy reading, writing, and photography... among other things. ;)
This entry was posted in Book Reviews, Books and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I'd love to hear from you! :)

