“Edenbrooke” by Julianne Donaldson

This isn’t a normal review post— my review is extremely short…  But when did I ever claim to be “normal”??  😛  First, I’ll tell you what I thought of the book.  Then I would like to share some of my favorite quotes from the newest addition to my “Favorites” bookshelf.

Edenbrooke

Edenbrooke by Julianne Donaldson

 

*                    *                    *                    *                    *                    *                    *

You probably wouldn’t think it, but this is Julianne Donaldson’s debut novel.  Personally, I think she did an amazing job!  And I have discovered yet another author (this makes three just in the past two months!!) who writes first-person pov wonderfully!  🙂  I loved her writing style, the characters, the storyline…  this is a very enjoyable book!  I am definitely looking forward to reading her next book: Blackmoore.

In short, if Julianne Donaldson keeps writing books like this one, she will definitely make it onto my favorite authors list!

 

*                    *                    *                    *                    *                    *                    *

WHAT SOME OF MY FRIENDS ARE SAYING ABOUT THIS BOOK

When a book succeeds in making me feel happy, contended, sad, infuriated, sympathizing, breathless and leaves me turning the last page with a dreamy sigh and a silly lovesick expression, well yeah, I know that I’ve been reading an amazing book, and it’s getting a five star rating.
~Anne
((I do believe Anne’s review is my favorite…  I love it!  So please take a moment to click on the link above & read her full review!))

A.M.A.Z.I.N.G! I would give it more than 5 stars if I could!
It really was a ‘proper romance’ like it says – it satisfied, more than satisfied, my romantic wishes and I am such a hopeless romantic!
I loved the whole story and some parts came as a complete shock. It kept me on tender-hooks which is always the best way in a story.
~Soph

I especially loved the fact that Mrs. Donaldson wrote her novel in first person. She is Marianne. Everyone can be Marianne, and this is amazing. Every reader can actually be in the book, everyone can live Marianne’s adventures and feel happy, sad, brave, fearful, nervous, envious. Everyone can live a dream until the book ends.
~Maria

Edenbrooke is a gorgeous, beautiful book, a relatively quick read for any lovers of Regency romances, with a lovely setting, an unbelievable climax and a perfect ending.
~Becca

 

*                    *                    *                    *                    *                    *                    *

~ QUOTES ~

“I hope you do not let anyone else’s expectations direct the course of your life.”

~  ~  ~

“I have discovered happiness in being true to who I am.  I hope you will give that idea some consideration.”

~  ~  ~

“You are the most infuriating man I have ever known,” I told him, and I meant it.  But he just smiled.  Of course.  Nothing penetrated him when he was in this mood.
“You are so enchanting when you insult me,” he said.

~  ~  ~

I was amazed that his voice, rich an familiar, could make even Mr. Whittles’s poem sound almost… good.  I wondered what he could do with a well-written poem.

~  ~  ~

“Should you not be teaching me how a lady writes a love letter?  After all, I will need to write a love letter as if I were my aunt.”
He rolled his eyes.  “I am not going to pretend to write a love letter to another man.  You will just have to take my instruction and apply it in your own way.”

~  ~  ~

“Did you need something?”  I asked.
“Yes,” he said.
“What did you need?”  My voice was little more than a whisper.
“Your smile.  I haven’t seen it all day.”

~  ~  ~

I turned away so I would not have to see his much-too-handsome face.  It was a great fault of his, for it led feeling young ladies to want to forgive his other faults for the sake of his eyes and his smile.

~  ~  ~

“You know, your glare is not quite the punishment you think it is,” he said.
“And why is that?”  I tried to keep my voice frosty.
“You are even more beautiful when you’re angry.”
I shot him a dark look. “Don’t be absurd.”
“I’m not,” Philip said…. “You should see yourself, with that flash of fire in your eyes.  And when you press your lips together like that, a dimple appears in your left cheek, right next to your mouth.  I find it… maddening.”

~  ~  ~

Sir Philip Wyndham was the most infuriating man alive, for now I couldn’t even give him an angry look without knowing he enjoyed the sight.

~  ~  ~

I said, “I was very confused, and rather blind, I think.”
He cupped my face in his hands.  “Then listen to me, my blind, stubborn, darling friend.  You stole my heart the night we met, when you sang that ridiculous song and dared me not to laugh.  And every moment I have spent with you since then, you have stolen more and more of me until when you’re not with me…”  He drew in a breath.  “When you are not with me, I am left with nothing but longing for you.”

~  ~  ~

And now for the best part…..  Don’t just take my word for it, either.  I think everyone I’ve spoken to who has read this book absolutely loved the letter-writing lesson scene!  I won’t post the whole scene here, but I just had to share the letter…  😉

my unsuspecting love

A special thank you to my sister, Sarah, who helped me get this together when my computer was being a pain… 🙂

If you want the full effect of that last scene, you’ll just have to read the book for yourself —  I highly recommend it!!  🙂

*                    *                    *                    *                    *                    *                    *

Click HERE to see more review posts on my blog!  🙂

About Aerykah

I'm a 26-year-old Christian homeschool graduate from Oklahoma, USA. I thoroughly enjoy reading, writing, and photography... among other things. ;)
This entry was posted in Book Reviews, Books and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to “Edenbrooke” by Julianne Donaldson

  1. Maria says:

    I am so happy you loved this book, Aerykah! It is one of my favourites! 🙂 That letter *sigh* is wonderful! Oh, thanks for quoting me!! It was a lovely surprise! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • Aerykah says:

      Thanks! Me too. 🙂 I believe you are one of the people who recommended this book to me & assured me that I would love it… Thank you — you were so right!! 😀
      You’re welcome! I like to include some clips from reviews that I like & I did like yours. 🙂

      Like

I'd love to hear from you! :)

