2014 Reading — Best & Worst

I really enjoyed posting my favorites and least favorites of the books I read in 2013, so I thought I would do the same this year.
Read a book blurb, find the rest of the books in a series, or learn more about an author by clicking on the cover of the book that interests you.

 

Favorite Books of 2014…
(These are my very favorites, I’ll have my “Top 20 Reads of 2014” post up next Tuesday.)
Beowulf: Explosives Detection Dog (A Breed Apart, #3) It Had to Be You (Christiansen Family, #2) Here to Stay (Where Love Begins, #2) Silenced (Alaskan Courage, #4) Tried and True (Wild at Heart, #1) The Hesitant Heiress (The Everstone Chronicles, #1) Edenbrooke

Least-Favorite Books of 2014…
The Firefighter's Match Born of Persuasion (Price of Privilege, #1) Love Gone to the Dogs An Accidental Valentine

Favorite New-To-Me Authors of 2014…
Melissa Tagg, Katherine Reay, Anne Mateer, Luana Ehrlich, Dawn Crandall, Julianne Donaldson

Least-Favorite New-To-Me Authors Of 2014…
Lori Benton, Jessica Dotta, Eliza King

Books That Surprised Me in 2014…
Made to Last (Where Love Begins, #1) Dear Mr. Knightley Playing by Heart
 One Night in Tehran: A Titus Ray Thriller The Hesitant Heiress (The Everstone Chronicles, #1) Edenbrooke 

Books That Disappointed Me in 2014…
A Passion Most Pure (Daughters of Boston, #1) The Pursuit of Tamsen Littlejohn An Unlikely Suitor Born of Persuasion (Price of Privilege, #1) A Highlander for Christmas Love Gone to the Dogs

Favorite Book Covers Of 2014…
Moonlight Masquerade (London Encounters #1) Here to Stay (Where Love Begins, #2) Tried and True (Wild at Heart, #1)

Least-Favorite Book Covers of 2014…
A Most Peculiar Circumstance (Ladies of Distinction, #2) Powder and Patch Beloved Stranger

Favorite Re-reads of 2014…
Submerged (Alaskan Courage, #1) Jenna's Cowboy (The Callahans of Texas, #1)

About Aerykah

I'm a 26-year-old Christian homeschool graduate from Oklahoma, USA. I thoroughly enjoy reading, writing, and photography... among other things. ;)
This entry was posted in Books and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to 2014 Reading — Best & Worst

  1. Loved making this list as a new favorite and most surprising author for 2014. Your review on Goodreads always makes me smile! Since you’re in Oklahoma, you might like to know I’m doing a book signing at Hastings in Norman, OK on January 31st from 1:00-4:00 p.m. Would love to meet you in person!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Aerykah says:

      Thanks so much for stopping by! I was very happy to have “discovered” you this past year. 😉
      Thanks! We don’t make it up to Norman very often, but I will definitely put that on my calendar and do my best to make it — it would be great to meet you too! 🙂

      Like

  2. I know I hate the book cover to Powder and Patch. That is the only Georgette Heyer book I didn’t like. The Heroine drove me crazy and thought the guy was stupid to change himself for her. I haven’t read any of the others but Edenbrooke is moving up on my to read list. I am actually more drawn to read Blackmoore then Edenbrooke.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Aerykah says:

      I thought it was very ugly and really had nothing to do with the story. I think I’d seen a better cover on GR, but that’s the one that was on the copy I bought. I didn’t really like the story at all (I totally agree with you about the main characters!), but I did enjoy the writing style so I’m making it a goal to find some more of her books to read. 😉
      Edenbrooke was great!! I haven’t read Blackmoore yet, but it’s on my 2015 tbr list. 🙂 Have you read Jane Eyre? I’ve heard that the style of Blackmoore is more like it, while Edenbrooke is more like Jane Austen’s style of writing. Looking forward to discovering that for myself.

      Like

  3. Maria says:

    Loved your list, Aerykah! I’m glad that Edenbrooke was one of your favourite books of 2014! 🙂 Dear Mr. Knightley was my number 1. 🙂 I found it was simply perfect! Here to Stay will be one of my next reads and I can’t wait to get to it! I agree about the cover, one of the cutest covers! 🙂 I’m sorry that Born of Persuasion and The Pursuit of Tamsen Littlejohn didn’t work for you! They’re on my TBR and I hope I like them! Enjoy your next books!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Aerykah says:

      Thanks, Maria! 🙂
      I hope you enjoy Here to Stay as much as I did. I liked it even better than the first book, but I think that’s (at least partly) because I liked Blake/Blaze so much. 😉 I was disappointed by those other two books, but a lot of people have enjoyed them so I guess they just weren’t for me. I hope you enjoy them, though! 🙂
      Thanks! You too!

      Like

I'd love to hear from you! :)

