Prairie Promises series by Kelly Eileen Hake

Kelly Eileen Hake‘s Prairie Promises series was quite a fun series to read!  It dealt with some serious stuff, but had plenty of humor to make the books what I consider “light reads”.  The books aren’t really short (about 280-310 pages each), but they did seem to fly by rather quickly.

Over all, I very much enjoyed myself while reading these books.  I definitely recommend them to anyone who is a fan of this author’s mom, Cathy Marie Hake, as well as to fans of quick, light historical romance set in the old west.

*                    *                    *                    *                    *                    *                    *

The Bride Bargain (Prairie Promises, #1)

~ QUOTES ~

I feel compassion for you, not pity.  Never mistake the two.

*     *     *

Time spent praying is never wasted, Midge, even if you don’t like the answer.

*     *     *

Who’d have though my son would’ve inherited all my good taste
without a lick of sense to go with it?

*                    *                    *                    *                    *                    *                    *

The Bride Backfire (Prairie Promises, #2)

~ QUOTES ~

Pity you can’t actually pound good sense into someone.

*     *     *

This, then, must be from God.  A peace that passes understanding.
Because I sure don’t understand, Lord.

*     *     *

You look like you don’t know if you want to grin or try for a quick escape.  I’m pretty fast, so my advice is you let out a smile.  It’ll make you feel better — civil, even.

*     *     *

Midge sat tall and straight, screaming silently behind the smile she wore so well.

*                    *                    *                    *                    *                    *                    *

The Bride Blunder (Prairie Promises, #3)

~ QUOTES ~

She’d learned the hard way that whenever Daisy felt happy for her, trouble loomed.  Simply put, the things Daisy felt ought to make Marge happiest bore the uncanny ability to make Marge miserable.  Tiers of ruffles and rows of bows on fancy dresses were a minor example.

*     *     *

“I am not,” [Marge] seethed, “the type of ninny who faints.
“Bravo!”  Grandma Ermintrude thumped her cane in a show of approval.  “I’ve seen enough ninnies to last a lifetime.”

*     *     *

Fools don’t grow on my family tree.  He gets that from his mother’s blood.  My son didn’t pass on the type of addled thinking that would make a man keep mentioning he didn’t specify which woman he was proposing to.

*     *     *

Am I wrong?
~
Often.  Though I doubt that’s the answer you seek.

*     *     *

Mmm-hmmm.  Thought so.  Yes, there it is.  A bona fide spine.  I’m glad to see you’re making use of it again.

*     *     *

Seems I’m doomed to lose many things.
~
Such as?
~
Push buttons.  I lose track of time when I’m enjoying myself.  My temper, when I’m not.  But most of all, it seems I can’t keep hold of my patience.

*     *     *

I’m considering the minute possibility I was wrong.
~
Of course you are.  About what this time?

*     *     *

How much longer will you make me wait before you become my wife?
~
Exactly as long as it takes for you to arrange the wedding.
~
Done.  You’ll be mine before the week is out.

*                    *                    *                    *                    *                    *                    *

Click HERE to see more review posts on my blog!  🙂

About Aerykah

I'm a 26-year-old Christian homeschool graduate from Oklahoma, USA. I thoroughly enjoy reading, writing, and photography... among other things. ;)
This entry was posted in Book Reviews, Books and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.