Negative Reviews

I don’t like writing negative reviews.  Heck, I don’t even like giving a book only one star!  It makes me sad. 😦  But it must happen.  So, here are a few books that have earned a negative review from me.

Black by Ted Dekker  Red: The Heroic Rescue (The Circle, #2)
BlackRed by Ted Dekker
Did not enjoy these books at all. I read them because my brother and some friends loved the series and thought I would too. Also, I’ve read several of Dekker’s books and really liked them. However, I was barely able to force myself to get through these two and there’s no way I’m going to even try to read the others.
Before the Scarlet Dawn (Daughters of the Potomac, # 1)
Before the Scarlet Dawn by Rita Gerlach
Disappointment. That’s what I felt when I finished this book. I really wish I hadn’t wasted my time on it.
Born of Persuasion (Price of Privilege, #1)
Born of Persuasion by Jessica Dotta
Well, this was a very disappointing read… I ended up speed-reading most of it just to get to the end and see how things turned out. I didn’t like the writing style or the story line or the characters… Unfortunately, this was a very unsatisfying book. I’ll have to think a while before deciding if I’ll try this author again.
An Accidental Valentine
An Accidental Valentine by Eliza King
The more I read, the worse this book got. It was totally ridiculous and unbelievable and annoying! And the ending… It was just really bad, okay? (Not “dirty”, just no good.)
Hotshot Cowboy
Hotshot Cowboy by Mimi Barbour
This “book” was an absolute waste of the 15-20 minutes it took me to read it. It’s abrupt, unbelievable, rather ridiculous… and the dialogue is pretty awful too– the worst I’ve read in a long while. Not to mention mistakes such as when one character grabbed another and shook him “to empathize his seriousness”.
Also, while I found this book in the Christian Fiction section, I would definitely not classify it as such.
A Bargained-For Bride
A Bargained-For Bride by Marcia Lynn McClure
This book wasn’t terribly awful, I guess, but I still did not enjoy it at all. It seemed so… fake to me. And I also went into it believing it to be Christian fiction only to be disappointed. Though there is mention of God, prayer, etc. I wouldn’t classify it as Christian. There is cussing — might be considered mild, but still — among other things that I did not like.
It was absolutely not worth my time at all!
I thought that it might just be this book, so I opened up another book I have by this author… You can see my review for Weathered Too Young below.
Weathered Too Young
Weathered Too Young by Marcia Lynn McClure
After reading A Bargained-For Bride, I thought I’d give this author a chance to redeem herself. After all, some authors just have one or two crappy books while their other books are much better! And I had a copy of this book on my kindle anyway so, why not?
Once again, I thought this book was supposed to be Christian fiction. I was disappointed, however… again. This one was worse than A Bargained-For Bride! In my opinion, it read more like a regular trashy (as I call them) romance (yes, though it embarrasses me to admit it, I have read a few of those in the past), minus the sexiest parts, plus God & prayer thrown into the mix to make it eligible to be tagged “Christian”. There is also some so-called mild cussing throughout.
I tried to finish this book — I really did! — if for no other reason than to say that I read it all the way through and was basing my opinion on the book in its entirety. I did make it over half-way, but I just couldn’t force myself to waste any more time on it when there are so many much better books I could be reading and enjoying.
Love You Like Crazy by T.K. Chapin
Love You Like Crazy by T.K. Chapin
I’m really not sure how this book has gotten as many good reviews as it has (at least on Amazon). It certainly didn’t earn them. The writing was kinda choppy, I thought. The story line… ridiculous, frustrating, and unbelievable. Unrealistic dialogue coming from the rather idiotic and ignorant characters was only topped off by grammar mistake after grammar mistake.
I truly hate to write negative reviews, but I believe it must be done. I just wish I wasn’t so much in the minority with this one.
About Aerykah

I'm a 26-year-old Christian homeschool graduate from Oklahoma, USA. I thoroughly enjoy reading, writing, and photography... among other things. ;)
This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Negative Reviews

  1. I don’t like writing negative reviews either. I try to be edifying. Hang in there. You’re doing great!

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear from you! :)

