Lord, save me!

And in the fourth watch of the night Jesus went unto them, walking on the sea.  And when the disciples saw him walking on the sea, they were troubled, saying, It is a spirit; and they cried out for fear.  But straightway Jesus spake unto them, saying, Be of good cheer; it is I; be not afraid.  And Peter answered him and said, Lord, if it be thou, bid me come unto thee on the water.  And he said, Come.  And when Peter was come down out of the ship, he walked on the water, to go to Jesus.  But when he saw the wind boisterous, he was afraid; and beginning to sink, he cried, saying, Lord, save me.  And immediately Jesus stretched forth his hand, and caught him, and said unto him, O thou of little faith, wherefore didst thou doubt?
Matthew 14:25-31

How many times do you step out in faith, confident in your Lord, only to become doubtful and begin to sink?  Often, I’m sure.  There are storms raging all around us and it is so easy to take our eyes off of Jesus and become fearful of those boisterous winds.  But I love the last part of that passage, the part that’s in bold.  Peter cried out to Jesus and  immediately Jesus stretched forth his hand, and caught him.  Jesus was there all the time.  He was waiting for Peter and willing to help him.  It’s so easy to forget that, but it’s true for us too.  Even when we take our eyes off of our Saviour, He is still there beside us, just waiting for us to call out to Him for help.

About Aerykah

I'm a 26-year-old Christian homeschool graduate from Oklahoma, USA. I thoroughly enjoy reading, writing, and photography... among other things. ;)
This entry was posted in Bible Verses and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Lord, save me!

  1. Judy says:

    Peter had only a little faith, but he stepped out of the boat and took steps toward Jesus. The others never even stepped out of the boat. Thanks for reminding me to keep my focus on Jesus and not the storm around me.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Aerykah says:

      True. It’s often hard to even have enough faith to step out at all, but it is so easy to take our eyes off of Jesus after we’ve taken that first step. You’re welcome. I hope it blesses you as it has me.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank you for this reminder, Aerykah. What a blessed promise to know that Jesus is always faithful to answer when we call out to Him. ~Joyce

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear from you! :)

