Cinematic Saturdays

The Princess Bride: one of my favorite movies!

I grew up watching this movie.  I’ve probably seen it about a hundred times!  And I’ll likely see it a hundred more times… 😉  It just never gets old!  We’ve been laughing over it for as long as I can remember.  And quoting over it…  It’s a hilarious movie, okay? 😀

You keep using that word. I do not think it means what you think it means.

~ Starring ~

Robin Wright as Buttercup
Cary Elwes as Wesley
André the Giant as Fezzik
Mandy Patinkin as Inigo
Wallace Shawn as Vizzini

Fred Savage as the Grandson
and Peter Falk as the Grandfather/Narrator

~ Storyline ~

When a young boy falls ill, his grandfather pops round to visit him. To cheer his grandson up, Grandpa has brought a storybook; The Princess Bride, a tale of the love between the beautiful Buttercup and the besotted Westley, a love cruelly interrupted by Westley’s tragic apparent death at sea when seeking his fortune. Heartbroken, Buttercup has sworn never to love again, but accepts the marriage proposal of the rich and handsome Prince Humperdinck, heir to the throne of Florin; but death is no barrier to true love, and in a story filled with exotically-accented swordsmen, big-hearted giants, genius kidnappers, sadistic torturers, vile swamps, Rodents of Unusual Size, the Dread Pirate Roberts and a somewhat embittered miracle worker, the love between Westley and Buttercup twists and turns on a path filled with adventure. Will the True Love of Westley and Buttercup win the day? Will Inigo Montaya find the six-fingered man who murdered his father? Will Humperdinck’s evil plans come to fruition? And, more importantly, will Grandpa be able to tell the story without any of the yucky kissing?
~Written by Scott Nisbet

~ See For Yourself ~

Click HERE to watch a trailer for The Princess Bride on YouTube.com
Click HERE to watch The Princess Bride on YouTube.com (says it’s the full movie– I haven’t watched it yet to make sure)
Click HERE to get The Princess Bride on DVD from Amazon.com
Click HERE to get The Princess Bride book from Amazon.com
Click HERE to see a fun interview with the cast 25 years after the movie was filmed.

And this pic… because it is adorable! 😉

About Aerykah

I'm a 26-year-old Christian homeschool graduate from Oklahoma, USA. I thoroughly enjoy reading, writing, and photography... among other things. ;)
This entry was posted in movie and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Cinematic Saturdays

  1. Oh my gravy, I love this movie!!! AND THAT LAST GIF! *passes out laughing*

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Carrie says:

    One of my absolute fave movies! “No more rhymes now, I mean it… ” 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Maria says:

    Oh, The Princess Bride! 🙂 I have recently seen it for the first time. A friend recommended it to me, and I found it was so cute! Will definitely rewatch it sometime soon!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Aerykah says:

      You just watched it for the first time, and I just watched it for the….. 100th-ish time. Lol! It’s a long-time favorite in my family & I’ve been watching it my whole life. 😉 I’m glad you got to see it, though! And it is so re-watchable! 😉

      Like

  4. Judy says:

    One of my favorites! I bought the book after seeing the movie, and loved it, too. When Cary Elwes put out “As You Wish” my brother bought it for me for Christmas. Loved it! Keeper all the way around.

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear from you! :)

