On Distant Shores by Sarah Sundin

On Distant Shores (Wings of the Nightingale, #2)

On Distant Shores
(Wings of the Nightingale #2)

by Sarah Sundin

~ MY REVIEW ~

These books certainly are fast reads! If I can get the third book from my library soon, I think I’ll be able to finish it this week too.  🙂

I enjoyed this book about as much as the first one, perhaps a bit more. I really liked the character of Hutch and the transformation he underwent. I think he was pretty realistically portrayed, which made his aggravating moments bearable. The same goes for Georgie. I know some people mentioned that she could have a rather nasty attitude & be vengeful, but I couldn’t hate her for it. Sure, you’re not supposed to like that about her — at least, I don’t imagine that was the author’s intention — but she wasn’t absolutely horrible or anything. If she had been the type to intentionally damage a reputation or physically harm someone or something like that, though, I don’t think I could still like her.

The story line was quite interesting and I really enjoyed it. There was one scene that was so sad I had to put the book away for a few minutes. (Click Here to View Spoiler) But I managed to get past that and finish the book within a few hours. The ending left me wanting a little more, but I figure that will come in book three. Speaking of which, I plan to see if my library has book three available — if they do, I’ll likely start it tonight. Kay is such an intriguing character and I can’t wait to learn more about her!  🙂

 

*                    *                    *                    *                    *                    *                    *

~ WHAT SOME OF MY FRIENDS ARE SAYING ABOUT THIS BOOK ~

With ups and downs and lots of surprises, the storyline captured not only the agony of the war and the feeling of those involved; but also the desire of every serviceman and woman to want a bit of normalcy and happiness in the midst of it all. Yet within this storyline, Sundin maintained a focus on the growing relationship and developing faith of both Georgie and Hutch. World War II buffs will love this story as both a historical read and well as a superb romance novel.  Read more…
~Loraine

I fell in love with this story. From the sweeping Italian countryside, to the romance blooming in the hearts of the main characters, to the brilliance of a World War II backdrop, “On Distant Shores” is one of those sagas that reads like a movie: bright and vibrant in the mind’s eye.  Read more…
~Casey

This story pulled me in and held my attention to the end. The facts about pharmaceutical compounds and how the hero created medicines was all quite fascinating. The characters had natural emotions and genuine spiritual struggles. Nothing felt stifled or sterilized.  Read more…
~Michelle

Georgie and Hutch are both such likable characters and both of them have struggles and issues they need to overcome. I loved watching each of them grow and at the same time learning even more about this time in history.  Read more…
~Megan

*                    *                    *                    *                    *                    *                    *

~ SOME FAVORITE QUOTES ~

“How can I be strong for everyone else when I’m falling apart?”

“This is hard, the hardest thing you’ve ever gone through, but you can handle it if you lean on God.  You’ll come through stronger and wiser and even more compassionate because of it.”

“There’s a difference between being good to someone and being good for them.”

“Dear Mrs. Ted Richards is about to get a dose of Southern charm at its most lethal.”
“I hope it’s more effective than New York brass.”
“Much more effective.”

*                    *                    *                    *                    *                    *                    *

Check out the entire Wings of the Nightingale series
With Every Letter (Wings of the Nightingale, #1) On Distant Shores (Wings of the Nightingale, #2) In Perfect Time (Wings of the Nightingale, #3)

Click HERE to see more review posts on my blog!  🙂

About Aerykah

I'm a 26-year-old Christian homeschool graduate from Oklahoma, USA. I thoroughly enjoy reading, writing, and photography... among other things. ;)
This entry was posted in Book Reviews, Books and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to On Distant Shores by Sarah Sundin

  1. Maria says:

    Can’t wait to read this book!! Though I’m worried about that sad part… Lovely review, Aerykah! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Sarah Sundin says:

    Thanks for the lovely review, Aerykah! I’m glad you enjoyed Hutch & Georgie’s story!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: Blue Skies Tomorrow by Sarah Sundin | Expressions Of Me

I'd love to hear from you! :)

