Cowboy Dream by Ruth Hartzler & Kathleen Wiseman

Cowboy Dream (Western Creek Ranch #1)

Cowboy Dream (Western Creek Ranch #1)
by Ruth Hartzler & Kathleen Wiseman

 

~ MY REVIEW ~

 

Okay, first I feel like I should explain why I even picked up this book in the first place…

When I saw the cover, I suspected that this might not actually be clean/Christian fiction. However, since it claimed in the title on Amazon that it was, in fact, Christian, I decided to go ahead and at least read the blurb. Upon reading that, I came to the conclusion that perhaps the cover didn’t fit the book (which it doesn’t, if you ask me). I thought the story sounded interesting, and it’s almost 300 pages long so I knew it wasn’t one of those 50-page super-short stories that I don’t even want to waste my time on. So… I went ahead and got the book– it was free, after all, and my curiosity demanded to be satisfied.

Well, my curiosity has been satisfied. My bookworm, however, has not. Words that come to mind when I think of this story include: fast, ridiculous, annoying, unsatisfying… The story just wasn’t believable for me. The relationship happened way too fast and the couple was engaged (I think– (Click here to view spoiler.)) by the end of the book without me feeling like they were actually anywhere near that stage in their relationship. And parts of the story felt really forced too. No matter that it was almost 300 pages long, to me it really felt like a short novella-type story where the author tried to make too much happen in too little time.

I just did not like this book. I didn’t like the characters or the story. If I had to sum it up in one sentence it would be this: “I certainly am glad this book was a freebie, ’cause it wasn’t worth paying for.”

 

About Aerykah

I'm a 26-year-old Christian homeschool graduate from Oklahoma, USA. I thoroughly enjoy reading, writing, and photography... among other things. ;)
This entry was posted in Book Reviews, Books and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I'd love to hear from you! :)

