I Chronicles 28:2-3

Then David the king stood up upon his feet, and said, Hear me, my brethren, and my people: As for me, I had in mine heart to build an house of rest for the ark of the covenant of the Lord, and for the footstool of our God, and had made ready for the building:  But God said unto me, Thou shalt not build an house for my name, because thou hast been a man of war, and hast shed blood.
I Chronicles 28:2-3

This passage is always a reminder to me that we can have a desire to do something — something that may very well be a good thing — and we can make all the plans we want to fulfill that desire, but….. that does not mean that it is God’s will for us.  David’s desire was to build a house for God.  That was a good thing!  And he made plans to fulfill that desire.  God, however, had other plans.  God wanted Solomon to build His house.  So, no matter how good a thing it was that David desired, it was not God’s will for him.

So, just because it’s a good thing that you’re wanting, that doesn’t mean that it’s the right thing for you.  Take time to seek out God’s will before you start making plans to fulfill that desire and make sure you’re following His desire for your life.

About Aerykah

I'm a 26-year-old Christian homeschool graduate from Oklahoma, USA. I thoroughly enjoy reading, writing, and photography... among other things. ;)
This entry was posted in Bible Verses and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I Chronicles 28:2-3

  1. Mary Kate says:

    Ohhhh this was just terrific, JJ!!!! Amen 😀

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear from you! :)

