The Thin Man by Dashiell Hammett

The Thin Man

The Thin Man by Dashiell Hammett
(Published in 1934, in case you’re wondering.)

*                    *                    *                    *                    *                    *                    *

~ MY REVIEW ~

 

First of all, this book isn’t as good (or as clean) as the movies… but it’s still pretty good!

The best thing about this book?  The mystery, of course!  It was written quite well, I thought.  If I hadn’t already known the ending, I would have really been shocked– in fact, I was even starting to wonder if they had changed the ending for the movie or something!

You know, they say: “The book is always better than the movie.”  Not true.  In this case, I’d take the movies over the book any day.  Why?  Because the movies are much cleaner.  And funnier.  There is no bad language in the movies, but there was quite a lot of it in this book. :/  It would be considered mild language, but still… it was disappointing.  And there was some other content that I did not care for, though it wasn’t really bad or anything, but I won’t go into all that.

One other thing: I found the Alfred G. Packer story included in this book to be quite (morbidly) fascinating.  Something I would never have expected to be included in a book, especially in such… detail… but there were actually several pages given to his story.

I’ll just leave you with this: If you want to experience The Thin Man… don’t bother with the book, just watch the movies! 😀

(Click HERE to see my post on Nick & Nora — it includes links to all the Thin Man movies.)

Oh, and may I also just say that I was so totally shocked to learn that Nick was supposed to be 41 and Nora only 26?! 😯

*                    *                    *                    *                    *                    *                    *

~ SOME FAVORITE QUOTES ~

 

Dorothy – I was fascinated by him, a real live detective, and used to follow him around making him tell me about his experiences.  He told me awful lies, but I believed every word.


Dorothy – He’s my father, I never liked him.  I never liked Mamma.  I don’t like Gilbert.
Nick – Don’t let that worry you.  Lots of people don’t like their relatives.


Nora – Do you think Jorgensen killed her?
Nick – I thought I knew who did it, but it’s too mixed up right now for anything but guesses.
Nora – And what’s your guess?
Nick – Mimi, Jorgenesen, Wynant, Nunheim, Gilbert, Dorothy, Aunt Alice, Morelli, you, me, or Guild.  Maybe Studsy did it.

*                    *                    *                    *                    *                    *                    *

Click HERE to see more review posts on my blog!  🙂

About Aerykah

I'm a 26-year-old Christian homeschool graduate from Oklahoma, USA. I thoroughly enjoy reading, writing, and photography... among other things. ;)
This entry was posted in Book Reviews, Books and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Thin Man by Dashiell Hammett

  1. sarah says:

    Interesting. Was the book more serious? I’ve heard a lot of Dashiell Hammet’s other stories on old radio shows. (Also, you gotta remember they didn’t allow foul language on radio and tv/movies back then.)

    Liked by 1 person

    • Aerykah says:

      Yes, the book definitely felt more serious. There was humor, but not like in the movies.
      Yes, I had thought of that and I did figure there would be some bad language in the book… there was just more than I expected.
      This was part of a 2-in-1 set that also included The Maltese Falcon so I’ve considered reading that too, but I’m not sure yet if I will or not.

      Like

  2. Marji Laine says:

    Good to know! LOVE the movies, and never would have thought the books would be inappropriate. I probably should have guessed it, though. Thanks for the information!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Aerykah says:

      Oh yes, I really love the movies too!! It wasn’t really bad… I didn’t know how to explain without going into a lot of detail, but it didn’t make me uncomfortable– just almost.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: The Secret Adversary by Agatha Christie | Expressions Of Me

I'd love to hear from you! :)

