Pray!

Some time back, I was convicted about my lack of prayer– especially for my friends and family.  There were people whose hearts and lives I wanted to see change for the better, people who I wished would turn to God.

I was lamenting this one evening– lamenting how God didn’t seem to be working in the lives of these people the way I wished He would…

Then these two verses suddenly came to mind:

James 4-17

I Sam. 12-23

I believe that God brought those verses to my mind.

I knew it was right and good to pray.  To pray for my friends and loved ones, as well as my enemies and others in general.  I knew that!  But I wasn’t doing it.  Not like I should have been.

So… if it’s a sin for me to not do something that I know is good to do, then my lack of prayer was/is a sin.  That just kinda hit me like a smack in the face that day and I thought, “Wow.  Why have I not realized this before?”  I had never put these two verses together before that moment.  And I actually wasn’t very familiar at all with the second one so I had to go look it up to figure out where it was in the Bible and to make sure I was recalling it correctly.

So let this be a reminder to you as well as to me: PRAY!

About Aerykah

I'm a 26-year-old Christian homeschool graduate from Oklahoma, USA. I thoroughly enjoy reading, writing, and photography... among other things. ;)
This entry was posted in Bible Verses and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Pray!

  1. Grace says:

    I ❤ this. I've never put those two verses together, but, wow, it does hit like a smack. Thank you for sharing. 🙂

    Like

  2. M.K. Aneal says:

    AMAZING! I had never saw that second verse either! How absolutely moving! Such a deep thing *handclaps* Amen, my friend! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear from you! :)

