Playing the Part by Jen Turano

Playing the Part (A Class of Their Own #3)

Playing the Part
(A Class of Their Own #3)
by Jen Turano


~ MY REVIEW ~

 

This is a delightfully funny, yet meaningful story.

Jen Turano quickly made her way onto my favorite authors list and this book is a prime example of why. She writes such fun, quirky characters who never fail to make me laugh… and think. And she also weaves into her stories meaningful truths and relatable moments that make her stories even better.

I have enjoyed all of Jen’s books, especially this series ( A Class of Their Own ), but this book is one of my favorites, I think. There is humor, romance, mystery, history, action… There are wonderful characters and terrific dialogue. What’s not to like?

The characters in Jen’s books are all so well-written, too, that my imagination has no trouble whatsoever picturing them. A couple favorites in this particular book are: Mr. Skukman (who could not like him?!) and Abigail (she is such a hoot!).

And the ending?! Anyone who has read the previous books in this series will just love how this one ends! If you’re anything like me, you’ve been waiting for this final scene– hoping that it would come… fearing that it never would…

I only have one real complaint: the last scene at the theater was just a bit weird for my taste. It didn’t really appeal to my imagination at all and, honestly, it felt more than a little awkward. However, it’s not enough to knock a star off my 5-star rating, so no worries there! ;D

I’m super excited to see what Jen Turano will come up with next. Some thrilling tale where madness rules the day, until that madness is struck down by a bullet, and good perseveres over evil?  Perhaps. 😉

I received a free copy of this book through the Bethany House Blogger Review Program in exchange for an honest review. All opinions expressed are my own.


~ WHAT SOME OF MY FRIENDS ARE SAYING ABOUT THIS BOOK ~

 

I had not experienced this kind of slapstick, hilarity ever, so to me it was so refreshing to hear a new “voice” in the writing world. Thankfully, all of her books have the same flavor of comedy and skillfulness in writing that keeps me coming back for seconds and thirds and on.  Read more…
~Diane

What ensues is mysteriously fun and laugh out loud situations that will keep you glued to the pages….
All in all, this book will keep you enthralled as you unravel the mystery, wait for the danger to pass, and enjoy the sweet romances.
  Read more…
~Rachel


~ SOME FAVORITE QUOTES ~

 

Abigail – “I’m still not convinced Mr. Skukman’s plan was a sound one, because you must know that it’s highly unlikely Mr. Kenton will pass for me upon close inspection, even wearing one of my favorite traveling dresses and matching hat.”

*       *       *

Lucetta – “I forget that gluing whiskers on my face always has me breaking out into a bit of a rash.”
Abigail – “That you glue whiskers on your face often enough to know that is slightly disturbing.”

*       *       *

Stanley – “…you’re apparently possessed of a face that all the ladies find swoon-worthy.  On top of that, I’ve heard more than one young lady whispering about that fine dark hair you have on your head.  Apparently, it’s a huge mark in your favor.

Stanley – “Every lady is appreciative of a handsome face, sir, and throw in a fortune and a castle to go with that face, and you can’t lose.”

*       *       *

Lucetta – “Is it a normal occurrence for your visitors to be greeted with flying cannonballs?”
Bram – “I wouldn’t say it’s a normal occurrence.  In all honesty, I think we should look at the whole cannon episode as an unfortunate accident.”
Lucetta – “Forgive me, but I don’t believe you can fire cannons accidentally.”

*       *       *

Stanley – “You’re burying yourself in secrets, Mr. Haverstein, and secrets have a way of rising to the surface when we least expect them to do so.  You might want to consider divulging a few of those secrets, before they slip out on their own and cause you all sorts of difficulties.”

*       *       *

Lucetta – “The South is always an interesting place to visit, Millie, although we normally don’t allow our guests to experience the rudeness of seeing a man shot on our front lawn.”


Check out the entire A Class of Their Own series:
After a Fashion (A Class of Their Own, #1) In Good Company (A Class of Their Own, #2) Playing the Part (A Class of Their Own #3)

And click the links below to see my review posts for:

After A Fashion (A Class of Their Own, #1)
A Change of Fortune (Ladies of Distinction, #1)
A Most Peculiar Circumstance (Ladies of Distinction, #2)
A Talent for Trouble (Ladies of Distinction, #3)


Click HERE to see more review posts on my blog!  🙂

About Aerykah

I'm a 26-year-old Christian homeschool graduate from Oklahoma, USA. I thoroughly enjoy reading, writing, and photography... among other things. ;)
This entry was posted in Book Reviews, Books and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I'd love to hear from you! :)

