Like Never Before by Melissa Tagg

Like Never Before (Walker Family, #2)

Like Never Before
(Walker Family #2)
by Melissa Tagg


 

~ MY REVIEW ~

Wow.  Such a great read!  Fun… and deep.  Enjoyable… and meaningful.  This is the best kind of book.  The kind that makes you cry, but then it makes you laugh.  And it has a fabulous ending!  What more could you ask for? 😉

First off, I have grown to love the Walker family– even though some of my family members think I’m a little strange for saying that about fictional folk… “they aren’t even real!” 😯 😐 😥

Really, though, this family is so lovable!  Each has his own place as a minor character and I love that you get glimpses into the members of this family without feeling that they’re taking over the story at all.  They’re loving and hurting and injured and growing and just so wonderfully imperfect.  How could a person not love them?  Honestly, I wish they were real so I could go visit them! 😉

Logan and Amelia are both people of strong character and principles.  They both come from difficult pasts.  And they both have their lives planned out and know what they want for their future… sorta. 😉  I loved watching them grow and change through this story.  And I also loved that, though it didn’t feel like that much time had passed, their relationship developed over a couple months rather than being rushed.

Did Logan live up to my expectations?  (Anyone who follows Melissa Tagg online at all will know what I’m talking about here.)  Yes!  He absolutely did.  He’s a wonderful character!  And Amelia– she’s just so perfect for Logan.  And her having a crush on him because of his writing (hope that’s not a spoiler for some of y’all) is just adorable!! ❤

And Charlie.  She’s…  Well, you’ll just have to read the book because I really can’t even think how to begin to describe her.  She was perfect.  Not as a person, of course, but I thought her character was written fabulously.  Kudos to you, Melissa Tagg, for making me like this little girl more than I have liked a child in a book in a long while!

I shall end by saying that I am excitedly awaiting another book from this author.  She has impressed me to no end and I can’t wait to get my hands on more of her writing!! 🙂

I received a free copy of this book from Bethany House Publishers in exchange for an honest review. All opinions expressed are my own.

 


~ WHAT SOME OF MY FRIENDS ARE SAYING ABOUT THIS BOOK ~

I truly feel that Melissa has reached a high point in her writing. She is able to create moments of humor, romance, poignancy and self-discovery and place them in the story exactly where they need to go.  Read more…
~Beth

Although I’ve looked forward to Like Never Before by Melissa Tagg for a full year, I couldn’t have imagined just how incredible it is. This book blew me away, and here’s why:  Read more…
~Andrea

I can’t forget to mention the hilariously entertaining humor that Melissa is famous for! I seriously cannot count the number of times she had me smiling, chuckling, or flat out laughing out loud throughout this book!  Read more…
~Abbi

Melissa’s books are some of the most funny, entertaining, engaging, romantic, and yet incredibly deep and well rounded books that I have ever read!  Read more…
~Caitlyn

This book makes me deliriously happy. Yes, it has an angsty, bawl-your-eyes-out kind of vibe in places but there’s also a winning combination of swoons and laughter.  Read more…
~Kav

I always know when I open a novel from Melissa Tagg, I’m in for a treat. She writes these adorable characters who are spunky and full of life and dealing with their own struggles. It’s simply a wonderful thing to sit down and enjoy one of her books.  Read more…
~Cassie


 ~ SOME FAVORITE QUOTES ~

Logan: You’re happy, yeah?
Kate: Like a bookworm in a library.

How could he not pray for his daughter?  He loved her more than anything in the world.  He should be on his knees every day, begging God to keep her safe and healthy, to fill in the gaps created by Emma’s loss, to right anything Logan might be doing wrong.

I’m starting to think the worst was abandoning God when I needed him most.  Thinking he abandoned me the day I lost you.

Logan: You have an entire shelf of candy bars?
Amelia: Two shelves.  Don’t sell me short, Walker.
…….
Logan: How do you know it was a bad day?
Amelia: You didn’t show up at the office.  You haven’t shaved.  You’re not wearing a tie.  You didn’t even scold me for my candy stash.

I just think one person seeing you for who you really are is better than 150,000 people who’ve got it wrong.

Maybe there comes a point when God doesn’t want you all grounded and secure and confident in your plans.  Maybe he wants you churned up and uncertain for a while.  So you’ll look to him, depend on him instead of your usual got-it-all-together Logan Walker roadmap.

If you really want the dreams and desires in your heart to come into any kind of focus, maybe start by getting to know the one who gives us dreams in the first place.


 

Check out the entire Walker Family series:
Three Little Words (Walker Family, #0.5) From the Start (Walker Family, #1) Like Never Before (Walker Family, #2)

And check out her other books too!
Made to Last (Where Love Begins, #1) Here to Stay (Where Love Begins, #2) One Enchanted Christmas

 


Click HERE to see more review posts on my blog!  🙂

About Aerykah

I'm a 26-year-old Christian homeschool graduate from Oklahoma, USA. I thoroughly enjoy reading, writing, and photography... among other things. ;)
This entry was posted in Book Reviews, Books and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Like Never Before by Melissa Tagg

  1. Rissi says:

    This book is SO good. Cannot wait to see what Melissa writes next. Her books are always full of joy and make us think with their emotional bent, which is always a good balance. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear from you! :)

