Butterfly Palace by Colleen Coble

Butterfly Palace

Butterfly Palace
by Colleen Coble


 

~ MY REVIEW ~

Okay, so…..  It took me a couple tries to get into this book.  As I told one of my Goodreads friends the first time I tried reading it: “Since Colleen Coble is one of my favorite authors, I’ve gotten to where I don’t even read the book blurbs for her books anymore. So I had absolutely no idea what this book was about when I started reading it. And I didn’t realize it was historical fiction… I think I’ll enjoy it, but I’ve put it on hold for now because I’m just not in the mood to read historical books right now.

But then I was looking through the audiobooks that my library has to offer, trying to find books to listen to at work, and I found this one. So I decided to give it another try.  And I’m glad that I did, because I really enjoyed it!

This review isn’t what it could have been since the book isn’t fresh in my mind– because I read it over a month ago and just haven’t had the time to write a review until just now– but I’ll do my best.

Honestly, I give this book 3.5 stars because I really enjoyed the mystery and suspense of the story.  I couldn’t rate it higher than that because it just wasn’t quite that good and I kinda felt like there was too much focus on the former relationship between the hero & heroine.  I mean, I did think that was pretty well written, but… perhaps shouldn’t have been dwelt on quite so much?

I remember reading one review (I can’t recall which it was & I don’t have time to go re-read them all to find out) that complained that not enough attention was payed to the town where the story takes place and that was causing some confusion for some readers.  Perhaps that’s true, but I really couldn’t say for sure because I’m relatively familiar with Austin, Texas (having lived in Oklahoma my whole life & having visited TX on innumerable occasions) so I didn’t end up with any odd ideas about that area, such as the size of Austin or anything like that.  So I guess if you know anything about that area and you’re like me, you might not notice anything odd.  But perhaps the author should have included more information for those readers who aren’t familiar with that area?

As I said before, I did enjoy the mystery and suspense.  Even though upon first “meeting” the serial killer, I did almost instantly figure out who it was, the suspense was still there and there were other mystery elements to the story to be figured out. 😉

I liked seeing Lilly and Drew grow and develop throughout the story.  And there were other characters who I also really liked a lot.  I especially liked the character of Belle.  At the beginning, she annoyed me and was kinda driving me crazy, but by the end of the book I liked her quite a bit.  She had potential to have a story of her own…  I’ll admit I was pretty disappointed (mostly sad) for the way things turned out for one particular character, though. 😥

Well… that’s all I’ve got time for.  I regret that I also don’t have time to share links to my friends’ reviews or any favorite quotes… I really wish I could. :/

 


Click HERE to see more review posts on my blog!  🙂

About Aerykah

I'm a 26-year-old Christian homeschool graduate from Oklahoma, USA. I thoroughly enjoy reading, writing, and photography... among other things. ;)
This entry was posted in Book Reviews, Books and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I'd love to hear from you! :)

