7 Shorty Reviews

Sometimes I simply do not have the time (or perhaps the desire) to write a very long book review, but I still want to say a little something about the book. Β When I share a review on my blog, I like it to be a “full-sized” review post so I don’t often share these shorties here, but I figured I could do a compilation post and share several shorties in one post. πŸ˜‰

Heads-up: most of these are books I gave 2- and 3-star ratings to– that’s part of the reason I only did shorty reviews for them.


His Love Endures Forever (Land of Canaan #3)His Love Endures ForeverΒ (Land of Canaan #3)
by Beth Wiseman
2 stars

This was okay– not really good, but not really bad either. Honestly, if I had remembered that it was an Amish book (couldn’t see the cover very well on my library’s site & didn’t bother reading the blurb because I was trying to hurry & I knew it was Christian fiction), I probably wouldn’t have even given it a second thought. And I most likely wouldn’t have finished it, except that it was the audiobook and I needed something to listen to at work and I couldn’t find a different book to listen to. So yeah… I finished it and it wasn’t a bad book, it’s just not the type of book that I really like.


Summer of Dreams (From This Moment #0.5)Summer of Dreams (From This Moment #0.5)
by Elizabeth Camden
2 stars

I was looking forward to this book, but it was actually rather disappointing. And, after reading this book and the preview of the next book… I’m wondering how this series will progress. It definitely has me curious enough to read the next book, at least. We’ll have to see how that one goes…


The Baby TreeThe Baby Tree
by Beverly Farr
3 stars

This one is pretty good. I enjoyed the idea of the story, though I felt that it was an awful large space of time to fit into this book because it ended up feeling a bit rushed and… “scattered” is the only word I can think to describe it. I just never felt like I connected with Michael and Olivia, especially as a couple.
It is a cute fun read, though. One that I don’t regret spending time on. πŸ˜‰


The Boden Birthright (The Cimarron Legacy #0.5)The Boden Birthright
by Mary Connealy
2 stars

I can see I’m definitely in the minority here– being the only person on GR so far to rate this book at only 2 stars– but I couldn’t give it more than that.

Maybe I’m just in a funk? I did feel like I was being kinda nit-picky at times, but I just didn’t really enjoy this book. Certainly not as much as I usually enjoy Mary Connealy’s books. I know it’s a novella and I shouldn’t expect quite as much from it as I would a full-size novel so I went into it with that in mind. Still, I was surprised by how rushed and shallow it was. I didn’t realize until later just how short it actually is– only 72 pages? If I had known that, I wouldn’t have even bothered opening it up. I considered giving it 3 stars… until I got to the ending, which was quite abrupt and disappointing.


A Matter of Trust (Mia Quinn, #1)A Matter of TrustΒ (Mia Quinn, #1)
by Lis Wiehl & April Henry
3 stars

Interesting. This book isn’t super good, but it’s good enough that I did enjoy it and am looking forward to reading the rest of the series.

I must say that, if I was adding the narrator into the equation, I would have only rated this 2 stars. I really didn’t care for the narrator at all so I would recommend skipping the audio version and just reading the actual book.


A Deadly BusinessA Deadly Business (Mia Quinn, #2)
by Lis Wiehl & April Henry
3 stars

This series is pretty good– good enough that I plan to finish it if my library will get the third book– but definitely not as good as some I’ve read.
Also, I don’t know that I would actually classify these books as Christian Fiction (which is what I was told they were). Clean? Yes. Though, perhaps, not entirely as I do recall hearing (it was an audiobook) at least one curse word and a scene or two that may make some more sensitive readers… uncomfortable.

One last thing: if I was adding the narrator into the equation, I would have only rated this 2 stars. I really didn’t care for the narrator at all so I would recommend skipping the audio version and just reading the actual book.


Distortion (Moonlighters, #2)Distortion (Moonlighters, #2)
by Terri Blackstock
1 star

Okay, y’all… I wasn’t able to make myself finish this one. :/

Perhaps it was the fact that I had so recently read another book about a woman who’s husband was killed and ((click here to see my review if you want to see the spoiler)). Or perhaps it was the narrator, who got on my nerves. Or perhaps it was simply the storyline, the writing, the….?

I think it was just a bad combination, to be honest.

Anyway, I’ve found that I seem to have a lot more patience for an audiobook (don’t know exactly why) so I listened for a good long while before finally giving up because I was about bored out of my mind.

So, yeah. I don’t think I’ll even try the third book in the series. Too bad.


 

About Aerykah

I'm a 27-year-old Christian homeschool graduate from Oklahoma, USA. I thoroughly enjoy reading, writing, and photography... among other things. ;)
This entry was posted in Book Reviews, Books and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 7 Shorty Reviews

  1. Susan F. says:

    I sometimes find myself in disagreement with other readers about books. It’s funny how someone can read a book and give it 5 star praise when I can barely give it a 3. You mention your library in this posting, do you use NetGalley? You have a blog so you can certainly sign up there and get books to review. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • Aerykah says:

      That is so true, Susan! Everybody’s different, right? πŸ˜‰
      Yes, I absolutely love my library!! πŸ˜€ And I have heard of NetGalley, but I already get so many books from my library & my sis-in-law… and through the Bethany House Blogger Reviewer program that I haven’t really looked into NetGalley much.

      Like

  2. Rissi says:

    Bummer! Sounds like you have some not-so-fun reads – all in a row. I always enjoy Elizabeth Camden’s novels so (at some point) I’m really looking forward to her series. Also, I will confess, I remember liking Terri’s series (I think I read them all). Hope you find some better reads soon. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • Aerykah says:

      Thanks, Risi! πŸ™‚
      Those weren’t exactly all in a row. I actually have read some really good books here lately! I usually try to write a longer review for the better books, though, so that’s why they didn’t get included in this post. πŸ˜‰
      I hope you enjoy Camden’s series when you get to it– I’m hoping to enjoy the rest of the series, myself. πŸ™‚ I’ve like some of Blackstock’s books pretty well… just not this one. 😐

      Like

I'd love to hear from you! :)

