New Glasses

I recently had my annual eye exam. When the doctor was through, I got the best news I’ve ever heard from an optometrist: “Your eyes are almost exactly the same as they were at your last check-up.” Yay! 🙂 This news was followed by, “Go pick out some new frames if you want.”

I sort of have a love/hate relationship with glasses. I love wearing glasses… but I hate choosing glasses. You must understand that I am extremely near-sighted. It is such a pain to try to pick a pair of glasses that you really like when you can’t really see any of them as well as you would like. You take the chance that — once you get them on your face with your prescription in them — you’ll discover that you don’t like them as much as you’d thought. Things look so different when you can actually see them…

These are the glasses I have right now.

Here’s what I do

1. Automatically eliminate the frames that I know I won’t like. You know the ones I mean… If I nearly gag just looking at them or if I know from experience that they do not look right on me, I don’t even mess with trying them on.  Why bother?

2. Stand very close to the mirror so I get the best possible view of the frames I try on. Though this can be slighty embarrassing, you know they must’ve seen others who had to do this. It is a bit comforting to know that you aren’t the only one.

3. Always ask for a second, third, fourth, etc. opinion (depending on how many people happen to be in the room). Obviously, I am way more likely to take the advice of someone who is wearing a super cute pair of glasses. 🙂

4.  Rarely ask the opinion of my younger brothers.  Why?  Because their replies are usually sarcastic in some way, so I can’t really take them seriously.

About Aerykah

I'm a 29-year-old Christian homeschool graduate from Oklahoma, USA. I thoroughly enjoy reading, writing, and photography... among other things. ;)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to New Glasses

  1. I think two people that I would take with me glasses shopping are my mum and my best friend. They’ve both come on separate occasions, but together I think we would make some incredible discoveries.

    Like

    • Aerykah says:

      Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

      I usually buy my glasses from my eye dr. One of the ladies that works there has great taste & I often ask for her opinion. I also totally trust my sister’s opinions.

      Like

I'd love to hear from you! :)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.