“Dear Mr. Knightley” — by Katherine Reay

Dear Mr. Knightley by Katherine Reay

I must admit that I was pleasantly surprised by this book.  When I first heard of it, I thought it sounded like an good book.  Then, I read the book blurb and I just wasn’t so sure about it.  Once I started reading it, though…  I couldn’t stop!  I read it in a single day!  🙂

I didn’t write a review on this book, but below is a review that I read the other day and really liked, so I thought I would share it with y’all.

*                    *                    *                    *                    *                    *                    *

A REVIEW BY MARIA

Samantha Moore has spent her later years in the foster care system, changing several foster houses. She has no parents and no true identity because, to avoid more pain, she has always hidden behind her favourite characters in literature. Over the years she has even started to quote them in her personal speeches trying to protect herself from the real world. Everything starts to change when an anonymous benefactor, a Mr. Knightley, offers her his help. He gives her a scholarship to attend a prestigious school of journalism and asks Samantha only one thing: she must write to him letters to keep him updated about her life and studies. These letters will be a sort of lifeline for Sam because she slowly begins to unfold her heart to someone and to trust people, and the relationship with Mr. Knightley will be the centre of her new life.

It took me a while to calm down the whirlwind of emotions that was in my mind after reading this story and to write my review, because I really loved this novel and I wanted to give it and the author the proper value. This is a splendid story! Being a great admirer of Jean Webster’s writing and her wonderful bookDaddy-Long-Legs, I had to read this one which is inspired by it. I wanted to. Moreover, it is Austen related and its description caught me immediately. Long story short: I could not help but reading it! And I am so glad I did! It is one of those books you want to read again as soon as you have finished it. I could read it over and over again and I am sure I would never be tired of it. It has definitely earned a special place in my heart.

I loved every character, especially Sam. I loved how she faces her life despite all her childhood’s suffering. It is not a sad book, it is about finding your own way in the world, it is about trust, real friendship and, of course, love. Not only love for one special person but a complete love for people. Aside from the protagonist, I loved two characters that will be very important to Sam. Mr. and Mrs. Muir are a beautiful and sweet couple who will help Samantha throughout the course of the whole story and their meeting is one of the loveliest thing of the plot. Besides, one of my favourite scenes involves the Muirs and Sam and I can tell it is very moving. Last (but not least!) person I loved is Mr. Knightley. Who else? He is a great character and a wonderful man, with his own faults but many qualities. He cares Sam and he helps her live and hope and this is a special and important task. By the end of the book, when you find out his true identity you will be pleased, thrilled and happy. I am sure! And if you did not love him before, you will definitely do after the truth is revealed.

Ms. Reay depicted her characters with finesse and tact. She handled difficult themes, like adoption and foster children’s troubles with attention and care. I enjoyed the way she described everything. I adored all the references to some of my favourite novels (Pride and Prejudice, Emma, Jane Eyre) and many others. And also, I enjoyed reading a book written in letter format, it was a good way to relate to Samantha. It was like reading her personal journal and somehow I felt part of the story.

With her debut novel the author did an amazing job and I look forward to reading her next book. I strongly recommend “Dear Mr. Knightley” to everyone. It is worth reading and it deserves to be on your “favourite books” shelf!

*                    *                    *                    *                    *                    *                    *

WHAT SOME OF MY OTHER FRIENDS ARE SAYING ABOUT THIS BOOK

I definitely recommend Dear Mr. Knightley for readers looking for something quirky, unique, layered, and more than what it seems. It made it to my list of favorites of the year so far, and I can’t wait to read her upcoming title.

Beth

“Dear Mr. Knightly” is more than just the surface romance I expected. It was a very serious story with a heroine my heart craved to learn more about, to dig within her person and plumb her depths. This is certainly one of those books with so many layers and human emotional tangles that it could be read several times over.

Casey

I bought it on impulse while leaving work tonight. I cracked the cover once home and thought I’d read a few paragraphs to see what it was like.
Four hours later I finally got around to that evening shower. Yes, I read it all in one sitting!!

~ Hannah

When I read about the book, I truly expected a cute romance with a lot of Jane Austen quotes. What I got was so much better. In fact, it was so amazing that I know it will be on my top 10 books of the year. I stayed up really, really late (or early if you want to get technical) because I HAD to finish the book that day. It was too amazing to put down.

~ Sarah

There are so many words to describe this book…
Wonderful, witty, fun, funny, lovely, sad, inspiring, heartwarming, heartrending, profound, thought-provoking, encouraging, sweet, emotional, tear-jerking…

~ Alice

*                    *                    *                    *                    *                    *                    *

I don’t write a lot of book reviews, but I do enjoy sharing the books I have enjoyed and would recommend to others.  So… I’m thinking of doing some more posts like this one.  What do y’all think about that?

About Aerykah

I'm a 26-year-old Christian homeschool graduate from Oklahoma, USA. I thoroughly enjoy reading, writing, and photography... among other things. ;)
This entry was posted in Book Reviews, Books and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to “Dear Mr. Knightley” — by Katherine Reay

  1. Maria says:

    Hi Aerykah! Thanks for sharing my review! I loved reading this story and I loved writing my review 🙂 I read the others’ thoughts as well and they wrote very good things! But it was easy with a book like that! Katherine Reay is definitely a new amazing writer. I think it is a good idea to share your friends’ reviews and I cannot wait to read them!!

    Maria

    Like

    • Aerykah says:

      Hi Maria! Thanks for stopping by! 🙂 I was happy to share your review, I loved it!
      You’re right, Katherine Reay did an amazing job with this book & I really enjoyed it too!
      Thanks, I think I will start doing that. I should write more reviews… but since I don’t write as many as I should, I can at least share what I think about a book via others’ reviews. 😉

      Like

  2. kreaybooks says:

    Aerykah – and Maria 🙂 – Thank you so much. I’m thrilled you enjoyed Sam’s story. And thank you for such thorough and thoughtful (and lovely) reviews. They mean a great deal!

    Like

    • Aerykah says:

      You’re welcome! Thanks for stopping by my blog! And thanks for writing a book that I thoroughly enjoyed! 🙂

      Like

    • Maria says:

      Hi Katherine 🙂 Thank you for reading my review! I really enjoyed your novel, it engrossed me from the first pages and I loved the way you described everything. I can’t wait to read your next book.

      Like

  3. Virgina says:

    Love your post! I think that is a wonderful idea to compile all those reviews! Very brilliant idea! I can’t wait to read this book! 😉

    Like

    • Aerykah says:

      Thanks, Virgina! I’m glad you stopped by! 🙂
      I’m currently looking through reviews that I like to see which one(s) I want to share next. I’m sure I’ll have 1 or 2 more up within the next week.
      I hope you enjoy this book as much as I did! 🙂

      Like

I'd love to hear from you! :)

