“Playing by Heart” by Anne Mateer

Playing by Heart

I think my favorite thing about this book is that it takes place very near where I live and at a time when my great-grandpa would have been about 10 or so years old. Things like that just really make a book that much more interesting for me.

Other than that, though, I did really enjoy this book. I thought it was well written and I really liked the characters. Perhaps it was the time at which I read the book, but I was able to connect with these characters quite a bit and I like that. I think the only thing I actually didn’t like about this book was that the ending felt very abrupt, and because of that I only gave it 4 stars instead of 5.

This is the first book I’ve read by Anne Mateer, but I will certainly be looking for more of her books in the future!

 

*                    *                    *                    *                    *                    *                    *

WHAT SOME OF MY OTHER FRIENDS ARE SAYING ABOUT THIS BOOK

…Anne’s talent for drawing you in makes you feel like you’re in Dunn, Oklahoma right along-side of them!
Mateer’s novels just get better and better- you don’t want to miss this!
~Alice

This was my first book by Mateer, but it will not be my last. Her style is so sweet and God-honoring. It is the kind of book that leaves you feeling good, as well as causes you to examine your own life and faith.
~Sarah

Sparks fly whenever Lula and Chet get together and their rocky romance makes for an engrossing read. Another exceptional novel from an exceptional writer.
~Kav

*                    *                    *                    *                    *                    *                    *

Click HERE to see more review posts on my blog!  🙂

About Aerykah

I'm a 26-year-old Christian homeschool graduate from Oklahoma, USA. I thoroughly enjoy reading, writing, and photography... among other things. ;)
This entry was posted in Book Reviews, Books and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to “Playing by Heart” by Anne Mateer

  1. Pingback: Happy Birthday, Oklahoma! | Expressions Of Me

I'd love to hear from you! :)

